Welsh Music prize won by post-punk trio Adwaith

Carmarthen band win award previously won by Gwenno and Gruff Rhys for album described by Huw Stephens as ‘personal, beautiful music’

Welsh-language post-punk trio Adwaith have won the 2019 Welsh Music prize for their album Melyn.

Announcing their win, BBC Radio 1’s Huw Stephens said the album was “a very exciting and deserved winner from an exceptional shortlist. Adwaith have made a real impact with their personal, beautiful music that captures what it’s like to be young, female, frustrated and bewildered at the world we live in.”

The band, made up of Hollie Singer, Gwenllian Anthony and Heledd Owen, and whose name translates as Reaction, formed in 2015 in Carmarthen. They beat more established artists such as Cate Le Bon, whose album Reward was also nominated for the Mercury music prize.

The Welsh Music prize, founded in 2011 and voted for by music industry figures, “celebrates the finest music made in Wales or by Welsh people around the world”. Previous winners are Boy Azooga (2018), the Gentle Good (2017), Meilyr Jones (2016), Gwenno (2015), Joanna Gruesome (2014), Georgia Ruth (2013), Future of the Left (2012) and Gruff Rhys (2011).

Receiving the Welsh Music Inspiration award were Phyllis Kinney and the late Meredydd Evans, who together charted the history of Welsh folk music and were Welsh language activists.

Adwaith released two new songs this month, including a relatively rare foray into English called Orange Sofa.

Welsh Music prize nominees 2019

  • Accü ­– Echo The Red

  • audiobooks – Now! (in a minute)

  • Carwyn Ellis – Joia!

  • Cate Le Bon – Reward

  • Deyah – Lover Loner

  • Estrons – You Say I’m Too Much I Say You’re Not Enough

  • HMS Morris – Inspirational Talks,

  • Lleuwen – Gwn Flan Beibl

  • Lucas J Rowe – Touchy Love

  • Mr – Oesoedd

  • Adwaith – Melyn

  • VRï – Tŷ ein Tadau

Source: Welsh Music prize won by post-punk trio Adwaith | Music | The Guardian

Leave a Reply