Brigid Mae Power

Yesterday before the gig at the Fanad lighthouse we pulled off at the side of the road for a quick practice of ‘We Weren’t Sure’,

Brigid Mae Power

Kathleen Ferrier – Ca` the Yowes

There are traditional songs that can restore to me a sense of  centeredness, calm – even gratefulness in stressful times such as these. The Scottish traditional song  Ca` the Yowes is one of these. The words are by Rabbie Burns. The voice belongs to the legendary Kathleen Ferrier.

1789 lyrics Robert Burns
Ca’ the yowes to the knowes,
Ca’ them where the heather grows
Ca’ them where the burnie rows,
My bonie dearie.

Hark! the mavis’ evening sang
Sounding Cluden’s woods amang,
Then a-fauldin let us gang,
My bonie dearie.

We’ll gae down by Cluden side,
Thro’ the hazels spreading wide,
O’er the waves that sweetly glide
To the moon sae clearly.

Fair and lovely as thou art,
Thou hast stown my very heart;
I can die—but canna part,
My bonie dearie.

Ca’ the yowes to the knowes,
Ca’ them where the heather grows
Ca’ them where the burnie rows,
My bonie dearie.



Kathleen Ferrier

“The greatest thing in music in my life has been to know Kathleen Ferrier and Gustav Mahler – in that order.” That’s what the conductor Bruno Walter wrote after Ferrier’s death from breast cancer in 1953, at the age of just 41.

[Wikipedia] Kathleen Mary Ferrier was an English contralto singer who achieved an international reputation as a stage, concert and recording artist, with a repertoire extending from folksong and popular ballads to the classical works of Bach, Brahms, Mahler and Elgar.

Her death from cancer, at the height of her fame, was a shock to the musical world and particularly to the general public, which was kept in ignorance of the nature of her illness until after her death.

Smoke Fairies live stream tonight

A global live streaming event. Smoke Fairies Live From The Italianate Glasshouse. Sunday 18th July. Show starts at 8pm BST (9pm CEST, 3pm EST, 12pm PST).

To celebrate ten years since the worldwide release of the critically acclaimed debut album ‘Through Low Light and Trees’ Smoke Fairies have commissioned a special filmed performance of the album in its entirety live at the beautiful Italianate Glasshouse in Ramsgate, England.

Ticket buyers will receive an email with their link to joint the live stream just prior to the show on Sunday 18th July + please check your junk email just in case any links get lost. In any instance please email info@smokefairies.com with any problems or questions.

Tickets are £12 but we have added an option to ‘pay what you want’ for the event allowing the opportunity to add a donation over and above the ticket price. Any donations received will be shared with the #saveourvenues campaign to support the live music industry.